CIFFA Young Freight Forwarder Award

Every year CIFFA sponsors the Canadian Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award.  This award is given to a young individual who best demonstrates the education, knowledge and attitude necessary to become an exceptional freight forwarding professional in the future and is a stepping stone to gain recognition and status in the Canadian freight forwarding industry.

The winner of the Canadian award receives CA $1,500.00 cash prize and is eligible to participate in the Regional Round of the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year competition, sponsored by the TT Club and FIATA, with a chance to further compete for the ultimate world prize at the FIATA World Congress, free of any registration fees and accommodation costs and US $1,000 towards the return air ticket to the Congress.

The international award winner receives an international certificate, a trophy, one-week practical industry experience in Hong Kong, London or New Jersey, one-week academic training in the TT Club’s Head Office in London, and one-year free subscription to International Transport Journal in English, French or German.

Those interested in participating must:

-Submit an application form and a letter of recommendation from the senior management of their current employer, including the verification of the applicant’s date of birth, via e-mail to, by September 30th.

-Be between 18 and 32 years of age at the time of application.

-Hold a CIFFA certificate of completion in, at least, the International Transportation and Trade, and Essentials of Freight Forwarding courses.

-at least 2 years of freight forwarding experience is preferred but not mandatory.

Upon receipt of the above, the applicants will receive further details and instructions on the requirements of the dissertation.  Completed dissertations for the Canadian round of the award must be submitted to CIFFA by December 15.

Past CIFFA Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Winners

2018: Kendyl Baptiste

2017:   Bradley Davis

2016:   Evgeny Kapustin

2015:   Kaya Karakaya

2014:   Douglas Whitlock

2013:   Kal Petrov

2012:   Salman Ali

2011:   Paramjit Jandu

2010:   Claudia Ramirez

2009:   Claudia Milena Giraldo Sanchez

2008:   Elvia Liliana Ordaz Huesca

2007:   Siva Vankineni

2006:   Pamela Rooney

2005:   Alicia Chin

To read the award winner’s biographies, click here.